The compound traces back to the 1500s in a once marginal area of the town, which became part of the present day square centre only years later.
Between the 17th and 18th centuries the compound was expanded and gradually converted into the elegant manor that is today.
The frontal side – which some historians attribute to F. A. Zimbalo – was completed in 1626, and features statues and busts of mythological creatures along with real-life ancestors of the Marulli family.
The well you can still look at in the internal court yard, dates back to 1719, as testified by the inscription on the well itself. Other portions of the palace, like some frescoed rooms on the ground floor, date back to the 18th century.
The attic houses the Civic Museum of Contemporary Art, a one-of-a-kind instance in the entire province of Lecce. First opened as a contemporary art museum in 1979, it was then named “Museo Civico di San Cesario” in 1984, as the collection would have soon been extended to ancient and modern art, along with the exhibitions of some of the local cultural property. Up until today, the museum has shown the exhibitions of several artists, such as Aldo Calò (1979), Ezechiele Leandro (1981), Francesco Barbieri (1984), Nino Cappello (1987 e 2003), and Nullo D’Amato (2006). Following donations from some of these authors or from his heirs, the museum owns several works of art from Aldo Calo', Nino Cappello, Francesco Barbieri, Carlo Barbieri, Fernando De Filippi, Ettore Consolazione, Romano Sambati, Nullo D'Amato, Cosimo Damiano Tondo, Franco Cipriano, Franca Angelini.
Francesco Barbieri has also donated some of his fascinating gypsum sculptures, while other works by himself and Carlo Barbieri have recently become part of the museum’s collection, such as a bust, a golden jewel and a wonderful still life painting.
For appointments call +39 0832.205636.